top of page

When I'm Struggling To Write

It may be because of my writing style. There are various ways to write what you want, but sometimes I find myself not writing as much as I'd like to.


For me, I struggle to write when there's no jokes, and it takes so much more effort to write everyday because it's less rewarding. Fair enough if you're motivated by the idea of finishing a book, but some days, that's not the case. Here's what I do when I don't want to write.


  1. Positive mantra. Mine is Be Unstoppable. After struggling so much just to write my first book, it helps to remind myself to use my time as much as I can. We never know which word will be our last.

  2. Asking for help. Having someone to help with the little things (shopping, cooking, researching) can make my day seem so much less daunting. Getting someone to read the first two chapters, even if they're not done. I never see being self-conscious as a negative trait, sometimes an opinion from the outside can help change my perspective, which in turn stops me from thinking so negatively.

  3. Playing music. Writing with music puts me into a trance for a while, and depending on how much I have left to write, I end up getting a lot done for hours on end. I suppose music is my drug in this respect.

Hope this helps! Another weird thing I do is imagine myself frozen, so becoming unfrozen becomes a goal.

Thanks again for reading my stuff, I'm very glad for all the support I've had this year. One day I hope to write nine books in a year like a certain Jack Mars!


Special thanks to the beta readers. You helped restore a lot of faith in myself with your overwhelmingly positive feedback.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Postmortem NaNoWriMo 2020

NaNoWriMo is shorthand for National Novel Writing Month, a free online challenge for writers to create a novel of 50,000 words or more before the month is up. I'd never done NaNoWriMo before, and upon

Why Are You Writing?

It recently occurred to me that when people ask "Why do you write", they really mean to say, "Why Should I Write"? My answer is: because you don't have any reason. Because fluidly going with the seas

Advice for Writing A Book

This question keeps popping up and it's starting to irritate me. Writing is easy. All you have to do is cross out the wrong words. - Mark Twain. I'm glad more people are writing books, but my question

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page