top of page

Writing Or Publishing?

Updated: May 21, 2020

Here I am. At the end of one mountain with another one to climb. But which is the most insurmountable?


Writing was a special challenge because I'm sure every writer knows, the battle to find the time to write is real! I found myself tormented by real-world problems one after the other. But for me these problems have been a blessing in disguise.


If I had never had any health problems, I would never have left my programming job, spent so much quality time with my loved ones, including my grandfather who passed away during the writing of this book, and I probably would have never found the time to write. I'm a strong believer in fate, so the only way I can get over these many ordeals is to make sure that each one makes me a better writer and a better person.


Publishing, on the other hand, is an entirely different beast. Let's not talk about the time I thought I published it but months later found out I most definitely had NOT. I found myself at a service station with nothing but my phone at 30% battery around 4pm, staring at a button simply reading "Publish now". My battery died within an hour, and I hadn't ran it through auto-correct. Needless to say I spent the next 72 hours wrestling with Amazon to get the final product ready.


Both stages have their challenges, and I can't say I prefer either one. I do know however that I have thoroughly enjoyed both journeys, because of the loving support of the friends I made along the way, and the eternal loyalty of even older friends.


This is the most fun I could possibly have without risking my life. Even though there is so much to hate about writing (I had many long lectures with myself during self-reviews), and publishing, there's an infinite amount of beauty in them both.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

When I'm Struggling To Write

It may be because of my writing style. There are various ways to write what you want, but sometimes I find myself not writing as much as I'd like to. For me, I struggle to write when there's no jokes,

Postmortem NaNoWriMo 2020

NaNoWriMo is shorthand for National Novel Writing Month, a free online challenge for writers to create a novel of 50,000 words or more before the month is up. I'd never done NaNoWriMo before, and upon

Why Are You Writing?

It recently occurred to me that when people ask "Why do you write", they really mean to say, "Why Should I Write"? My answer is: because you don't have any reason. Because fluidly going with the seas

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page